Criminal Sentencing Guidelines

Texas criminal law contains standard sentencing guidelines that must be used when assigning punishments to people who are convicted of crimes. However, there are many ways a penalty can be aggravated or increased due to prior offenses and/or the circumstances of the offense. Additionally, the statutes for some offenses require a higher level of punishment than the standard sentencing guidelines.

The chart below shows the standard criminal sentencing guidelines in Texas. However, if you’ve been charged with a crime, you should seek the advice of a criminal defense attorney to explain exactly what penalties you could be facing under the specific circumstances of your case.

Classification
Minimum Sentence
Maximum Sentence
Maximum Fine
Standard
Class C Misdemeanor
N/A
None
$500
Class B Misdemeanor
N/A
180 days
$2,000
Class A Misdemeanor
N/A
1 year
$4,000
State Jail Felony
N/A
2 years
$10,000
Third Degree Felony
2 years
10 years
$10,000
Second Degree Felony
2 years
20 years
$10,000
First Degree Felony
5 years
99 years
$10,000
Capital Felony (Adult)
Life Without Parole
Death Penalty
N/A
Prior Conviction for Felony or Class A or Class B Misdemeanor
Class B Misdemeanor
30 days
180 days
$2,000
Prior Conviction for Felony or Class A Misdemeanor
Class A Misdemeanor
90 days
1 year
$4,000
Two Prior Convictions for State Jail Felony
State Jail Felony
2 years
10 years
$10,000
Two Prior Convictions for First, Second, or Third Degree Felony
State Jail Felony
2 years
20 years
$10,000
One Prior Conviction for First, Second, or Third Degree Felony
Third Degree Felony
2 years
20 years
$10,000
Second Degree Felony
5 years
99 years
$10,000
First Degree Felony
15 years
Life
$10,000